Professor Vasant Kumar

Head of Materials Chemistry Group, Professor in Materials Chemistry, Department of Materials Science & Metallurgy, University of Cambridge

Fellow, Director of studies and Tutor of Trinity Hall

Fellow of the Institute of Materials, Mining & Metallurgy; The Energy Institute; International Association of Advanced Materials; Royal Society of Chemistry

Qualifications: PhD (McMaster); BTech Hons. (IIT, Bombay)

Professor Kumar obtained his PhD from McMaster University, Canada and B.Tech (Hons) from IIT-Bombay in Materials Science & Metallurgy.

He is a Distinguished Research Fellow and a Professor of Materials Chemistry and a Fellow of Trinity Hall in University of Cambridge, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK), A Fellow of The Institute of Energy (UK), a Fellow of International Association of Advanced Materials (Sweden) and a Fellow of the Institute of Materials, Mining and Metallurgy (UK).

His research has helped advance new knowledge in materials chemistry with innovations in sensors, batteries, fuel cells, electrolytic cells and photocatalysis. He has supervised 45+ PhD students, 50+ post-doctoral researchers, 20+ visiting students and hosted 15+ visiting scientists and professors.

He is Honorary/Adjunct Professor in 6 overseas Universities (2008, 2012, 2016, 2019, 2021 and 2022) and has published 400+ papers including 20+ patents, 15+ chapters in handbooks. Has received Honorary Engineering Degree in University of Malaysia (2011), Kroll Medal from IOM3 for translating research into industrial applications (2014).

He is the Editor-in-Chief of IOM3 journal, “Mineral Processing & Extractive Metallurgy” from 2004 and a Board Member of IOM3’s Technical Division, a Board Member of IOM3’s Technical Division, Advisory Board Member of TECHMET Ltd, London, and Korea National Lithium Research Centre operating in the lithium battery- supply chain. Many of his research has led to licenses and industrial practices and he has helped found 3 start-up companies commercialising some of his inventions.

Year Positions Held
2023Kumar International Symposium on Sustainable Secondary Battery Manufacturing & Recycling
2023Appointed as Adjunct Professor in IIT-Bhilai
2022Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry.
2022Fellowship of IAAM, Sweden.
2021Adjunct Faculty Professor in BHU-IIT, India.
2020Advisory Board Member of TechMet Ltd; and Korea Lithium National Research Centre.
2019Guest Professor awarded by Nankai University.
2019Fellow of the Energy Institute, (FEI).
2016Guest Professor awarded by Xinyang Technical College.
2015Appointed as “Specialist consultant of the Xiangyang Association of the Automobile Manufacturers”, China.
2015Fellowship of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, (FIMMM).
2014Kroll Medal and Prize, awarded by IOM3, in recognition of significant contribution that has enhanced the scientific understanding of materials chemistry as applied to the industrial production of materials.
2013DOW Sustainability Innovation Students Award Grand Prize on “High energy density Li-S batteries”, won by my PhD student Kai Xi.
2012DOW Sustainability Innovation Students Award Runners-Up on “Photocatalytic Materials” won by my PhD student Najeeb Ullah.
2011Honorary Doctorate of Engineering at University of Malaysia, Perlis.
2011Guest Professorship at Huazhong University of Science & Technology, Wuhan, China awarded.
2007Armourers & Brasiers Venture Prize for the invention of a new technology for recycling automotive batteries in an environmentally friendly process.
2006Honorary Professorship at Hebei University, Tansheng, China awarded.
2000Innovative Metrology Award  DTI/NPL, “Emission measurement of exhaust gases”.
1999Fellow in Natural Sciences of Trinity Hall.